Tribal Relations

Background & Outreach

California is proud to be the home for more Native American residents than any other state. The State recognizes and reaffirms the inherent right of these Tribes to exercise sovereign authority over their members and territory and is committed to strengthening and sustaining relationships between Tribes and the State. Pursuant to Governor Brown’s Executive Order B-10-11, “Agencies and departments shall permit elected officials and other representatives of tribal governments to provide meaningful input into the development of legislation, regulations, rules, and policies on matters that may affect tribal communities.”

California State Transportation Agency Secretary David S. Kim is committed to establishing direct communication and positive relationships with California tribes on issues that affect the state and tribal communities.

To achieve this goal and to help guide Departments under CalSTA, an agency policy on consultation has been adopted. This policy will guide CalSTA and its Departments in their daily operations to work with California Indian Tribes.

Secretary Kim has designated the following individuals as Native American Liaisons for CalSTA and its departments.

CalSTA Tribal Liaison

Avital Barnea
916-323-5400
avital.barnea@calsta.ca.gov

CalSTA Tribal Liaison Advisory Committee

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Lonora Graves
916-653-6315
lonora.graves@dot.ca.gov

California Highway Patrol (CHP)
Scott Gillingwater
530-242-4303
sgillingwater@chp.ca.gov

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Barry Steinhart
916-657-6518
barry.steinhart@dmv.ca.gov

California High Speed Rail Authority (HSRA)
Brett Rushing
916-324-1541
brett.rushing@hsr.ca.gov

Amy T. MacKinnon
916-330-5637
amy.mackinnon@hsr.ca.gov

Office of Traffic Safety (OTS)
Randy Weissman
916-403-0061
randy.weissman@ots.ca.gov

California Transportation Commission (CTC)
Brigitte Driller
916-653-2072
brigitte.driller@catc.ca.gov

Board of Pilot Commissioners (BOPC)
Allen Garfinkle
415-397-2253
allen.garfinkle@bopc.ca.gov


Pursuant to Governor Brown’s Executive Order B-10-11, “Agencies and departments shall permit elected officials and other representatives of tribal governments to provide meaningful input into the development of legislation, regulations, rules, and policies on matters that may affect tribal communities.” [Executive Order B-10-11] (PDF)