

Gavin Newsom Governor

Toks Omishakin Secretary 400 Capitol Mall, Suite 2340 Sacramento, CA 95814 916-323-5400 www.calsta.ca.gov

MEETING OF THE TRANSIT TRANSFORMATION TASK FORCE for the California State Transportation Agency

https://calsta.ca.gov/subject-areas/sb125-transit-program

December 19, 2023 8:30 AM

NOTE: The Transit Transformation Task Force (Task Force) will hold a public meeting via a teleconference platform.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REMOTE PARTICIPATION: For all those who wish to participate or observe the meeting remotely, please log on to this website:

https://cadot.webex.com/weblink/register/r744f5ce23b97db7d81e3383638611a b4

or join by phone by calling 1-408-418-9388 and using access code: 2484 346 3505

Members of the public may but are not obligated to provide their names or personal information as a condition of observing or participating in the meeting. When signing into the WebEx platform, participants may be asked for their name and email address. Participants who choose not to provide their names will be required to provide a unique identifier such as their initials or another alternative, so that the meeting moderator can identify individuals who wish to make public comment; participants who choose not to provide their email address may utilize a fictitious email address in the following sample format: XXXXX@mailinator.com

NOTICE: All times are approximate and subject to change. Items may be taken out of order to maintain a quorum, accommodate a speaker, or for convenience. The meeting may be canceled without notice.

Questions or inquiries about the meeting may be directed to the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) by contacting CalSTA at (916) 323-5400, <u>sb125transit@calsta.ca.gov</u>, 400 Capitol Mall, Suite 2340, Sacramento, CA 95814, or by accessing the Transit Transformation Task Force's web site located at <u>https://calsta.ca.gov/subject-areas/sb125-transit-program</u>.

Public comments will be taken on agenda items at the time the item is heard. Public comments will be limited to two minutes unless, in the discretion of the Board, circumstances require a shorter period; members of the public will not be permitted to "yield" their allotted time to other members of the public to make comments.

The meeting is accessible to the physically disabled. A person who needs a disability-related accommodation or modification in order to participate in the meeting may make a request by contacting CalSTA at (916) 323-5400, sb125transit@calsta.ca.gov, or 400 Capitol Mall, Suite 2340, Sacramento, CA 95814. Requests should be made as soon as possible but no later than five business days prior to the scheduled meeting.

NOTE: ACTION MAY BE TAKEN ON ANY ITEM LISTED ON THIS AGENDA, INCLUDING INFORMATION-ONLY ITEMS

<u>AGENDA</u>

1. Call to order, introduction of Chair, roll call*, and establishment of a quorum

Mark Tollefson, Undersecretary, California State Transportation Agency – Chair of the Task Force

2. Opening remarks

Toks Omishakin, Secretary, California State Transportation Agency

3. Introduction of Task Force Members

Mark Tollefson, Undersecretary, California State Transportation Agency – Chair of the Task Force

 Identification of next steps and potential items for future agendas Mark Tollefson, Undersecretary, California State Transportation Agency – Chair of the Task Force

5. Public comment for items not on the agenda

Please Note: The Task Force may not discuss or act on any matter raised during the Public Comment section that is not included on this agenda, except to decide whether to place the matter on the agenda of a future meeting. (Gov. Code, §§ 11125 and 11125.7, subd. (a).)

6. Adjournment

*Task Force Members are listed on the following page.

TRANSIT TRANSFORMATION TASK FORCE MEMBERS

SB 125 (Chapter 54, Statutes of 2023) requires the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) to establish the Transit Transformation Task Force and include representatives from the department, various local agencies, academic institutions, nongovernmental organizations, and other stakeholders.

Kome Ajise

Executive Director, Southern California Association of Governments Metropolitan Transportation Organization

Rashidi Barnes

Chief Executive Officer, Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority Small Urban Transit Operator, Bus-only Service

Alix Bockelman

Chief Deputy Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission Metropolitan Transportation Organization

Sharon Cooney

Chief Executive Officer, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) Large Urban Transit Operator, Multimodal Service

Ian Griffiths

Policy Director, Seamless Bay Area Transportation Advocacy Organization

Amy Hance

Deputy Director General Services, City of Clovis Local Government & Small Urban Transit Operator, Bus-only Service

James Lindsay

International Vice President, Amalgamated Transit Union Labor Organization

Eli Lipmen

Executive Director, Move LA Transportation Advocacy Organization

Juan Matute

Deputy Director, UCLA Institute of Transportation Studies Academic Institution

Kate Miller

Executive Director, Napa Valley Transportation Authority/Vine Transit Small Urban & Rural Transit Operator, Bus-only Service

Lorelle Moe-Luna

Multimodal Services Director, Riverside County Transportation Commission Regional Transportation Planning Organization

Seamus Murphy

Executive Director, SF Bay Water Emergency Transportation Authority Urban Transit Operator, Ferry-only Service

Laurel Paget-Seekins

Senior Policy Advocate for Transportation Justice, Public Advocates Other Transportation Stakeholder

Michael Pimentel

Executive Director, California Transit Association Transportation Advocacy Organization

Robert Powers

General Manager, San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District (BART) Large Urban Transit Operator, Rail-only Service

Carl Sedoryk

CEO, Monterey-Salinas Transit District Small Urban & Rural Transit Operator, Bus-only Service

David Sforza

Principal Consultant, Assembly Transportation Committee

Tony Tavares

Director, Caltrans

Laura Tolkoff

Transportation Policy Director & Interim Chief Policy Officer, SPUR Transportation Advocacy Organization

Mark Tollefson

Undersecretary, CalSTA

Michael Turner

Executive Officer - Government Relations, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Large Urban Transit Operator, Multimodal Service

Kari Watkins

Associate Professor, University of California at Davis Academic Institution

Mark Watts

Advocate, Transportation CA Transportation Advocacy Organization

Melissa White

Principal Consultant, Senate Transportation Committee

Jim Wunderman

President and CEO, Bay Area Council Other Transportation Stakeholder