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California Announces Statewide Crackdown on
Handheld Cell Use Behind the Wheel

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month — “lt'$Not Worth It!”

Sacramento, CA— In an effort to save lives and eliminate dangeroehind-the-wheel distractions like

talking, texting, or browsing on a cell phone, @aifornia Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), Califoian

Highway Patrol (CHP), and more than 200 law enfioreet agencies across the state today announced high

visibility enforcement operations during April’s Nanal Distracted Driving Awareness Month.

“Catastrophic crashes can happen in a split seteadl Brian Kelly, Secretary of the California &ta
Transportation Agency. “No text or phone call isrthahat risk.”

Four dates, April 3, 8, 17, and 22, have been e&eddor special statewide enforcement for alldhied law

enforcement agencies. Individual agencies willdo&ing for mobile device offenders in their aress

additional days throughout the monthhe increased enforcement aims to persuade dtiveesognize the
dangers of distracted driving and reduce the nurabpeople impacted by this perilous behavior. Ttie

Not Worth It!” theme emphasizes that a phone call or text isorthwa hefty fine or a collision.

“Distracted driving has become a dangerous epideationwide and we want to do everything we castdp
it here and now,” said OTS Acting Director Russla@s. “Law enforcement agencies will be out il fatce
to help remind drivers to put down their cell phea@d maintain their focus on the roads. By working
together, we can eliminate crashes and the sesdekssof lives of that can result from distraaeeing.”

In recent years, hundreds have been killed andstmals seriously injured in California as a restuttadlisions
that involved at least one driver who was distrdctBationally, an estimated 3,328 people died 421000
people were injured in motor vehicle crashes invgha distracted driver in 2012. Any activity tltaverts
the driver’s attention away from the primary tagkioving is distracting, but the recent dramatserin cell

phone use has greatly increased the number o$icoi§.

-more-



“Any non-driving activity a driver engages in betlithe wheel is a potential distraction and incredbkeir risk
of being involved in a collision,” said CHP Commdsger Joe Farrow. “Through education and enforcgme
law enforcement is working to change this dangeemaspotentially life-threatening behavior.”

According to research, sending or receiving a takes a driver's eyes from the road for an avesages
seconds. Even a three second glance at freewagspgeans a driver has traveled the distanceauitbdll
field.

In 2013, the California Department of Motor Vehglkeported over 426,000 handheld cell phone artohtex
convictions, with more than 57,000 tickets issuedpril alone. The CHP and statewide law enforcetme
agencies are committed to ensuring our streetsadeeby ticketing anyone found driving while disted. The
ticket cost for a first time texting or hand-hekllghone violation is about $162, with subsequekets
costing about $282.

To avoid falling victim to distracted driving behaxs, OTS and the CHP are providing drivers with th
following tips that can be implemented by any mistor

» Turn off your phone or put it on silent mode, then it out of reach while driving

* Record an outgoing message on your phone thatctlers you're driving and will get back to them
when you're off the road

» Adjust controls and set your song playlist befove get out on the road
» Ifit’'s urgent, pull over in a safe place to placeall

* Focus on driving, and avoid eating, drinking, reggdigrooming, smoking, and any other activity that
takes your mind and eyes off the road

The California Office of Traffic Safety, Californtdighway Patrol, Caltrans and Department of Motor
Vehicles remind you to drive safely not only dgrispril’s Distracted Driving Awareness Month, bwiesy
day throughout the year. Get more distracted nigiunformation atvww.distraction.goywww.ots.ca.goy
www.chp.ca.gowand teen information aww.impactteendrivers.org

Impact Teen Drivers reminds parents, teens, andtiakrs that
April 2 — 8 is California Teen Safe Driving Week a week
a c dedicated to empowering teens to make meaninghd\eral
o i e Teen Drivers:=== changes in their own driving habits, as well aprtamote safe
driving in their community.http://impactteendrivers.org/
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